Emblem and History of Old Sirohi State

  • Sirohi city is one of the known name in the southern Rajasthan. Sirohi is an administrative headquarters of Sirohi district which covers five tehsils- Abu Road, Sheoganj, Reodar, Pindwara, and Sirohi itself. City has evolved its name from “Siranwa” hills on the western slope where it is situated. The name Sirohi was derived from head (Sir) of the desert (Rohi), according to Colonel Tod, who wrote about it in his book “Travels in Western India”. Another story about the origin of its name is that it derived from “Sword”. Deora Chauhans, the ruler of Sirohi state were popularly known for their bravery and famous swords. 

    In 1405, Rao Sobha Ji (who was sixth in descent from Rao Deoraj the progenitor of the Deora Clan of Chauhans), founded a town Shivpuri on eastern slope of Siranwa hill which is called KHUBA. Relics of the old city are lies here and a pious place of Virji is still a place of worship for localites. 
  • Son of Rao Sobha Ji, Shreshthmal had founded the present city Sirohi on western slope of Siranwa Hills. He laid foundation stone of the Sirohi Fort on second day (Dvitiya) of Vaishakh in the year 1482 (V.S.) i.e. 1425 (A.D.). It was known as capital and entire area under Deora’s known as Sirohi later on. In puranic tradition, this area has been referred as “Arbudh Pradesh” and Arbundachal i.e. Arbud+ Anchal.
  • An agreement was signed between Central Government of India and Minor ruler of Sirohi State after independence. As per the agreement, state administration of Sirohi state was taken over by Bombay Government from January 5, 1949 to January 25, 1950. Prema Bhai Patel was first administrator from Bombay state. In 1950, Sirohi finally merged with rajasthan. An area of 787 Sq. Km. consisting Abu Road and Delwara tehsils of Sirohi district was renamed on November 1, 1956 with Bombay state after the recommendation of the State Organisation Commission. It forms the present position of district.

  • "SIROHI" as Colonel Mellson rightly remarked "is the one domain in Rajputana which maintained its independence, not acknowledging the suzerainty of Mughals, Rathores and Maratha". The princely house at Sirohi is an offshoot of the same branch, Chauhan, to which the last Hindu Emperor of India belched. Historic pride clings to masses as much as to individuals, conducing to honorable pride when rightly felt, and to none can it, therefore cling more firmly than to "the Magnificently Stubborn Deora," the particular seat at the Chauhans who have ruled over Sirohi during the past six centuries.

Sirohi = Sir + Uhi i.e. Sirohi means " Self Respect is most important even if head may be detached " in other words "A Rajput of Sirohi may die for Self Respect.


  • It has great antiquity, a rich heritage and an exciting history. In puranic tradition, this region has always been referred to as Arbudaranya. It is believed that Rishi Vasistha retired to the southern spur at Mount Abu after his sons had been slain by Vishvamitra.


  • Colonel Tod called the Mount Abu as the "Olympus of the Hindus" since it was the seat of a powerful kingdom in the older days. Abu formed a part of the empire of Chandra Gupta at the Maurya dynasty, who ruled early in the 4th century B.C. The territory of the Abu passed successively the possession of the khshtrapas, the imperial Guptas, the Vaisa dynasty of which emperor Harsha was the ornament, the Chaoras, the Solankis and the Parmars. From the Parmars, the Chauhans of Jalor took the kingdom at Abu. Lumba, a scion at the younger branch of the Chauhan rulers at Jalor, seized Abu from the Parmar king in the year 1311 A.D. and became the first king of the territory now known as the kingdom of Sirohi. The famous town of Chandravati situated at the bank of river Banas, was the capital of the kingdom and Lumba took his residence there and ruled till 1320 A.D.

  • Rao Shiv Bhan was popularly known as Shobha, the Sixth descent from Lumba, finally abandoned Chandravati and founded a town below the 'Siranwa" hill and built a fort on the top, in the year 1405 A.D. The newly founded town was called Shivpuri. But the town founded by Rao Shiv Bhan was not suitable for him, so, his son Rao Sahasmal abandoned it in 1425 A.D. and built the present town of Sirohi and made it the Capital of the kingdom. During the reign of Rao Sahashmall, the famous Rana Kumbha of Mewar attacked and conquered Abu, Vasanthgarh and area adjoining Pindwara. Rana Kumbha renovated a castle in Vasanthgarh and also a tank and a temple at Kumbhaswami near the shrine of Achaleshwar in the year 1452 A.D. Rao Lakha succeeded Sahashmall and tried to liberate the region at Abu with the help at Qutubuddin, the king of Gujarat who was also unfriendly with Kumbha. But Lakha failed to get his territory back.


  • The political awakening in Sirohi started in 1905 with the Samp sabha of Govind Guru who worked for the upliftment of the tribals of Sirohi, Palanpur, Udaipur and former Idar state.


  • In 1922 Motilal Tejawat organized Eki Movement to unite tribes at Rohida, who were oppressed by feudal lords. This movement ruthlessly suppressed by the state authorities. In 1924-1925 NAV PARAGNA MAHAJAN ASSOCIATION filed an application against unlawful LAGBAG and Tax System of Sirohi State. This was in first time that the merchants formed an association and opposed state. In 1934 SIROHI RAJYA PRAJA MANDAL was founded at Ville Parle, in Bombay under leadership of journalist Bhimashankar Sharma Padiv, Virdhi Shankar Trivedi Kojra and Samrathmal Singhi Sirohi. Later on Shri Gokulbhai Bhatt joined Prajamandal in 1938.He, along with 7 others, founded Praja Mandal at Sirohi on 22nd Jan '1939. After these activities of freedom, movement got guidance from the Indian National Congress. Praja Mandal demanded for responsible Government and Civil liberties, it resulted in the formation of popular ministry under chief ministership of Gokulbahi Bhatt.
  • With the independence of India in 1947 the process of integration of princely states of India started. The Sirohi state was merged on 16th Nov. 1949 with Rajasthan State. Chronological Order of Kings of Sirohi of Deora dynasty & their achievements.Thereare total 37 kings from Deora dynasty had ruled Sirohi and the present ex-king is the 38th descendent of the Deora dynasty.